Royal Mail!

Since my little venture into crochet, I have been hugely inspired by Lucy of Attic24. Whether you crochet or not, you should follow her blog! (It’s on my list to the right.) Lucy is a stay at home mom in the UK who has a way with words, pictures, and a crochet hook. When I first found her blog, I thought I had discovered a secret treasure that not very many people knew about, but apparently, she’s kind of famous due to her crochet designs and eye for color combinations – so much so that yarn companies have started creating “Lucy packs” that contain the yarns that Lucy uses.

Well, I just HAD to have a Lucy pack. The problem was, all of the companies who sell them are in the UK, and I figured both the yarn and the shipping would be horrendously expensive. Luckily, through the wonderful ladies on Ravelry, I foundย Deramores, a UK company who has FREE shipping to the US!! And even better, this yarn is only about $2.50/skein. (For those of you who don’t know much about yarn, that’s a really good price, as most decent yarns cost $5.00/skein and up.) I placed my order a week ago and have been oh-so-patiently waiting for my package to arrive. Every day I have peeked out the window hoping that I would see the mailman with a package, but alas, I have been disappointed. Until I walked in the house last night and…….

TA-DAH!!

Royal Mail!! (Sorry for the blur, I need a new camera.)

I literally jumped up and down and squealed with glee. If I had to make an analogy of my excitement, it would compare to this. I can’t help it; I feel uber-cool that I received a package from Europe, containing European yarn. And not just any European yarn. Lucyย  yarn. Yes, I am sooooo cool.

Here is the contents. Now, this is not the Lucy pack, these are skeins that I ordered in addition to the Lucy pack. Because we have a school mailbox that is the size of a shoe box, I was sent a notice to pick up the other box at the P.O.

Yarn: Stylecraft Special DK. Colors: White, Silver, Sunshine, Jaffa, Emporer (it’s dark purple – again, stupid camera!), and walnut. I was pleased, but it definitely needs some additional colors…………..cut to next morning……….

TA-DAHHHH!!!!

Isn’t it beautiful?!?! It’s oh-so-squishy and soft!! It’s Christmas in February.

As the coffee table is probably not the best place for this stash, I needed to find another place for it. Somewhere that it won’t get separated (that just will not do), and somewhere I can see it and admire it at all times. Ah, here we are!

The bookshelf in our living room. With my Lucy Maud Montgomery collection as the bookend. PERFECT.

I am pleased as punch with this little lot. The big question is…what should I make with my exotic, English yarn???? Or maybe I should re-phrase that and say, What should I make first?? Any suggestions?

oxo,

~Erin~

27 thoughts on “Royal Mail!

  1. Erin I love reading your blog!! Even though I don’t know the first thing about crocheting, I am intrigued by your posts! You’re a good writer, girl! ๐Ÿ™‚ Learning how to crochet is definitely on my bucket list ๐Ÿ™‚ Hmmm…what to make first…the possibilities are endless, but with me having a 2 year old, I would love to know how to crochet little flowers for a headband. Shoot, I would even wear one myself! Or you could make a scarf to sport during this cold weather. A blanket would be gorgeous with those colors. Can’t wait to see what you decide to do!! Love ya! Lauren

    • Thanks girl!! You can totally learn, it’s really not hard, just takes a little patience while you get the hang of it. But if I can teach myself you certainly can! Yes I love those headbands! I know how to do the flowers but not attaching it to a band, but I bet I could figure it out. If I do I’ll send you one!

  2. I taught myself to crochet using a “Learn to Crochet” book. My mother could not read a pattern and tried to teach me when I was in 4th or 5th grade. I have to laugh remembering that time. Using white crochet cotton, mine turned grey from my hands sweating. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hi Erin. I love the Attic 24 blog too, it’s fantastic. I just started crochet before Christmas and I am totally addicted. I found another UK shop selling “Lucy Packs” online – masonsneedlecraft.co.uk
    Their packs are cheaper but I do not know if they do free shipping to the US. Might be useful for Rachel (above) though.

  4. Hello! I don’t crochet, I just knit, and I am rather addicted to Lucy’s blog ๐Ÿ˜€ I love that you can get “Lucy Packs”!! That’s rather amazing. And you’re a crafter after my own heart, I am just re-reading my Anne of Green Gables set for the zillionth time ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Everything about this post makes me smile. I want to go and buy yarn just to place on my bookshelves next to my LMM books and think as I walk by it every day how pretty my bookshelves are!

  6. Hi Erin, firstly thanks for stopping by and choosing to follow my blog ๐Ÿ™‚ I remember when I got my Lucypack I was super excited! I made her granny stripe blanket for my great nephew and he absolutely loves it! At 18 months old he drags it round the house with him and just snuggles down on it when he wants a nap! It is great yarn and I am using different colours now for a different blanket. Why not start out with Lucy’s granny stripe or maybe user her neat ripple pattern to make a ripple blanket? Nikki

  7. This was the response to the email I sent requesting the packs:
    “Thank you for your email. Unfortunately our supplier is out of stock of some of the shades that make up the colour pack. We are hoping for them to be available again between the middle and end of March. I can only recommend that you check our website regularly as they will show available once in stock. If you have any further queries please do not hesitate to contact us.

    Best regards

    Sammy”

  8. Pingback: It’s Back in Stock! The Deramores Stylecraft Special DK Yarn | Mighty Knitting Chick

Leave a Reply

