Double the Love…

As I stated in my last post, I went to Houston, TX for the weekend for my husband’s identical twin sisters’ double wedding shower. First I have to tell you about my little adventure getting there.

Those that know me know that I am extremely directionally challenged. Our GPS decided it didn’t want to plug into my car charger anymore, so I bought a new one for this trip since I was driving down alone. I love GPS’s; they have saved my life on more than one occasion. But using a new one for the very first time was a little nerve-wracking, just because I had never used it before and there’s a sense of “Hope this thing knows what it’s doing…” as you blindly follow its directions.

The majority of the trip was fine. I got to enjoy a beautiful Texas sunset on the way down.

But when I got into Houston, the GPS started taking me a different way then I had ever gone before. I was a little nervous, but again, it’s a GPS so I continued to blindly follow – until the next direction was “In 2.2 miles, board ferry.” I said, “BOARD FERRY?!” Now I was freaking out because I didn’t know ferries even existed in Houston, and all of a sudden I was driving down a dark road where I was the ONLY car, and I was surrounded by dark, murky water where I was sure an alligator was going to crawl up onto the road and get me at any moment. I called DH, and after laughing at me for about 5 minutes, he told me to get on the ferry b/c it’s free, and if I don’t I would be adding another 30 minutes or so onto my trip. So after about having a panic attack, I did board the ferry. This is the best picture I could get, but this is a huge ship crossing about 100 feet in front of our little ferry. That was a little anxiety-inducing as well, I was having visions of the Titanic and drowning in the Houston ship channel.

The ferry ride was really all of about 3 minutes long, and the situation really was funny. These types of things only happen to me.

So after crossing rivers and oceans to get to this shower, I did make it safely to my in-laws’ house and the weekend could begin. Here’s some pics of the tea party shower.

Ta-da!!! Tea cup bunting with the brides’ monogram – Katie and Gretchen Rohr. For the letters, I got the inspiration from here. The tea cup bunting pattern can be found here.

Katie loves Bruce, Gretchen loves Drew. The pattern for the flag bunting can be found here.

The beautiful brides

A really cool alternative for a guest book.

The Bibles had their soon-to-be new names on them.

These cupcakes were DELISH.

My mom and I bought this child’s tea set at a flea market when I was in third grade when I had a tea party birthday party. I was glad it could be used again!

The Valentine bunting made an appearance!

All the yumminess.

Each guest got to take a vintage tea cup home.

The brides and hostesses.

It was a really fun weekend. I am so excited for these girls – they have both chosen wonderful guys to be their husbands. I know God has an awesome plan for their marriages and ministries as couples. I love all my in-laws and truly feel so blessed to be a part of this family.

8 thoughts on “Double the Love…

  1. You are meant to have an idea of where you are going as well. Here in England there have apparently been all sorts of mishaps as people drive into rivers etc because they don’t look at signs, or think about where they are driving, they blindly stare at the GPS. I’m glad you trip turned out successfully and no titanic disaster occured!!!! 🙂
    Lovely ‘vintage’ tea cups, what a great gift.

  2. Hi Erin, how delightful to be able to read about and see pictures of the girl’s shower. You all did a fantastic job and everything looked incredible. I feel like I know you from all the wonderful things Jan has said about you and being able to see your own wedding to Kevin. Hopefully, when you all come to visit Jill & family, I’ll have a chance to meet you in person. Your GPS story was so funny (though not at the time, I’m sure). Have a great time at the wedding.
    Donna Scott from Portland.

  3. Pingback: Double Wedding Extravaganza! « Playing Hooky

Leave a Reply

