Spring has Sprung!

Well, with a high of 83 today, I think it’s safe to say that Spring has officially sprung here in Texas. It has been an unusually mild winter – I don’t think I ever even took out my real winter coat, I just got by on jackets. But even though it has been mild, it’s still been brown and yucky, so when I noticed these little bits of color popping up in the yard, it made me happy! They’re all just weeds, really, but I still enjoy them.

Texas is known for its bluebonnets that bloom in spring in the Hill Country. I have not been to see them yet, but maybe this will be the year. I guess we’ll have to hurry, though, since our time here is becoming limited. These are just images from Google, but aren’t they gorgeous? The red ones are called Indian Paintbrush. If I get to go this year, I’ll bring my own photos back to show you.

Spring is just such a rejuvenating time. I think we all feel a renewed hope and energy when the color comes back. I was talking to my future-brother-law this past weekend and he said, “You know, God didn’t have to create color. There’s no real use for color except for our aesthetic enjoyment. I think it just shows that God wants us to enjoy life and live it to the fullest.” Word.

If you’re still enduring winter, whether literally or figuratively, I hope these pics cheer you up a bit today. “Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.” ~ Ps. 30:5

~Erin~

9 thoughts on “Spring has Sprung!

  1. I am so jealous! What are those blue flowers? Are they like bluebells? We just received some more snow so even though it’s warm here (0C) for us, it’s not quite spring yet. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You know, I really have no idea what they are! They certainly look like some kind of bluebell, but I’m not sure. I sure hope the weather warms up for you soon! That’s funny that you call 0C warm – that’s about the coldest it ever gets here! But trust me you wouldn’t want our summers, they can be pretty miserable.

  3. Nope. Not ALL weeds, though this time of year, even weeds are welcome (sort of ! The beautiful blue flowers in the first photo are grape hyacinths, a commonly planted bulb. However, they typically don’t do all that well in the Deep South, so those are rather special. Maybe you could dig up just one for your Mom????

    And the last one of your photos is an Anemone, also a bulb, also not one that typically thrives in the deep South….

    • Mom, aren’t all bulbs pretty tall and the stems kind of thick, like in a tulip? Those in the picture are REALLY small, like the height of grass. I really thought it was just some kind of little weed.

      • Bulbs are just one form of plant – they come in all shapes and sizes! The flowers in my front lawn are all bulbs (snowdrops, crocuses, scilla siberica), they grow about 3 inches tall. Then there’s ones in the borders that can grow several feet tall (tulip ‘Queen of Night’, honey lily, alliums).

  4. Pingback: Bluebonnets! « Playing Hooky

Leave a Reply

