New Pattern Purchase

I have so much to do, so naturally, I’m blogging. 🙂 But I just HAD to show you all the pattern I just purchased. This is a breakthrough for me, because it is my first garment pattern. But it is just so beautiful that it inspired me to give clothing a try (eventually – not sure when this WIP will begin yet).

Image

Image

Do you like it? I love it. I think it would be so pretty to dress up or down. Now I just have to choose a yarn. The pattern calls for Vanna’s Choice or Hobby Lobby’s “I Love This Yarn”, but I am hesitant to use such cheap yarns for a garment. What do you think?

If you’re interested, I got the pattern from Craftsy – a website I found when I was looking for yarn deals online. If you subscribe they send a daily yarn deal – kind of like Groupon, except for yarn – to your email. I haven’t bought anything yet, but maybe I will purchase something from here for this vest. If you’re a hardcore Raveler, though, I also found the pattern on there.

Anyway, just wanted to show you all what I got! Hope you’re having a good day; I must get back to the packing grind now. Two more days in Texas….I’m sad to leave but excited to be going home, too. And who knows, maybe we’ll come back someday. Cheers!

11 thoughts on “New Pattern Purchase

  1. Looks so like you Erin. Just be careful you don’t use a yarn that shrinks easily. I would hate to see you put all that work into something and have it ruined with one washing. I may need to borrow that pattern when your back in Meridian.

  2. I love it Erin!! I want one or two hahaha! I crochet but just basic beginner stuff. I tried pants once, done a few blankets and am trying to do a sweater for Angel (our Doberman, only a single coat so she gets cold in winter) but I’m self taught so haven’t made my way up to patterns. I think this would look good in brown, grey, black or white 🙂 Ooh a nice rich blue with a white undershirt might be pretty too! Keep us updated, I was so happy to see you guys!!

    • Thanks Jessica! It was great seeing you too. You should try patterns, they’re really not bad, you just have to take it one step at a time. Ravelry has tons and tons of free patterns and you can search by level, so you can find a lot of beginner patterns.

  3. Hi erin,

    I would strongly advise against Vanna’s yarn – it feels like sandpaper to me. Hobby Lobby’s I Love This yarn is much softer to the touch. I use it all the time. Is might work nicely for this/ I’ve made a couple of granny square sweaters (Sarah London’s pattern) and my friends love them. And they wash well.

Leave a Reply

