Hello long lost Blogland!

Hello friends,

It has been quite some time since I have posted. I have my blog on my bookmarks, so I have looked at the bookmark many times over these past months, sometimes longingly, sometimes with twinges of guilt for not posting in so long.

2012 was, in a word, CRAZY. Here it was in a nutshell:

March: Moved from TX back to my home in Mississippi, and moved in with my parents as my husband and I figured out what was next for us since I graduated seminary. We had both applied for jobs at a charter school in TX and were hoping that we would both get jobs there and move back.

April: Found out we didn’t get the jobs. Bummed and a bit frustrated.

May: My husband accepted a position as the interim youth pastor at my parent’s church.

June: My dad was diagnosed with Stage 4 pancreatic cancer. I suddenly had never been more grateful to be “stuck at home”. Also, a 15-year-old child in our youth group was diagnosed with Stage 4 cancer.

July: My dad went in for surgery to have the tumor on his pancreas removed, but it had already metastasized, so they took out his gallbladder and closed him back up. The doctors said they would do all they could to make him comfortable, but there was no hope. People from all over the country started praying for a miracle.

August: My dad began chemo, and Tyler, the 15-year-old, passed away. Our youth group had taken many trips to the hospital 2 hours away to visit him, had raised money for his family, and had done everything they could to show him he was loved before he died. It was devastating, but the youth group grew closer together and closer to the Lord through the experience. They also became “our” (my husband and my) youth group. My husband was hired on as the full-time youth pastor at the church this month.

September: We bought a house in Meridian. A foreclosure, and a MAJOR fixer-upper. Hence my new journey as Home Renovator. (I really should’ve blogged throughout this process but I was too exhausted!) Here’s a picture of me the day we got the keys to the house.

IMG_0122

October: My dad’s tumor markers finally started to fall. When he started chemo, they were at 14,000. Normal is 0-31. House renovations still going.

November and December: House renovations stilll going. My family celebrated a very special Thanksgiving and Christmas together. Dad’s numbers continued to fall. Here’s a picture of Dad on his 59th birthday on Christmas Eve. You better believe we put 59 candles on that cake! He had lost about 70 pounds at this point. He weighs less now than he did in high school. Chemo has been hard.

IMG_0247

January and February: You guessed it! Still working on that house! Today my dad’s tumor markers at 457. The pancreatic cancer statistics say that daddy should’ve been gone before Thanksgiving. But God had other plans. Daddy preached again for the first time since June on February 10. He is a walking miracle.

March 2 (this coming Saturday): We are finally moving in!!! I am doing a major happy dance! I love my parents, and being able to live with them through all the drama and then through the renovation was a big blessing, but let’s face it, living with your parents is not what God intended once you are married! We are ready to be the masters of our domain again. I will definitely post before and after pictures for all of you in the next few weeks.

Needless to say, I have not done much crocheting this past year. I DID finish that blanket, though, and I will share pics of it and a few other little projects I did.

For example:

This is a crochet sampler I made for my best friend, Leslie, who lives in Indiana.Image

Image

and this is a sweet puppy I made for my niece Zolie:

Image

Image

Image

and speaking of Zolie, this is her last March with my blanket. It’s not a great picture because she was being a wiggle worm, but it’s still cute! I can’t believe she’s going to be 2 in July!

Image

I’ll post some better pics of the finished blanket later.

Hope to hear from some of you soon!

Erin

5 thoughts on “Hello long lost Blogland!

    • Hello Rachel! I was hoping you would stop by. I stopped over to your page last night and WOW! you have been chrocheting! I’m a bit envious as I’m sure you are WAY better than me now! haha It’s ok though, now you can answer all my questions. 🙂

  1. Hey you… great to hear from you! Wow you have had a mad time. Tough but with some beautiful bits thrown in too. Great to hear your Dad is doing well… Long may it continue. And how exciting to be moving into your own new home. 😉

Leave a Reply

